Live TV

skip to main content Hindi

Home / Corporate / Doordarshan

Doordarshan is an autonomous public service broadcaster founded by the Government of India, which is one of two divisions of Prasar Bharati.It is one of India’s largest broadcasting organisations in terms of studio and transmitter infrastructure, having been established on 15 September 1959. It also broadcasts on digital terrestrial transmitters. DD provides television, online and mobile services throughout metropolitan and regional India, as well as overseas, through the satellite network.

About Doordarshan


Doordarshan – literally, a glimpse of all afar- is the face of and a witness to India’s metamorphosis to a global leader in digital communications.

Interestingly, the illusory cyber paths that crisscross homes and streets and represent the voice a billion-plus Indians today, actually began with a modest experiment in public service telecasting on September 15, 1959. The makeshift studio and its players beamed their voice and visuals through a small transmitter, daring to dream of becoming the prime vehicle of development of a nation that had shrugged off its yoke of slavery just over a decade earlier.

The experiment became a service in 1965, when Doordarshan began beaming signals to reach television sets in living rooms in and around the country’s capital, New Delhi. By 1972, services were extended to Mumbai and Amritsar and then on, to seven other cities by 1975. All this time, it was part of the national broadcaster, All India Radio. On April 1, 1976, it transited to become a separate Department in the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, though still serviced by All India Radio, especially for its news.

Since then, the organisation has grown to cover the length and breadth of the country, painstakingly caring for the interest of all linguistic, geographical and cultural groups and promoting social, cultural and educational development of the country though an array of transmitter networks equipped with studios and facilities to produce programmes even in regional languages.

In doing so, the country’s prime television service provider has also become the engine for celebration of its diversity and the iteration of its unity. It has been able to do so because it has no single market to pamper – because it is the harbinger of news and information services to every geographical community, all occupational group and each assemble of interests.

At Doordarshan, engineering blends with creativity to make it a role model as a matrix of genres evolve from a spread of centers, an array of transmissions and hundreds of studios. This fusion of modern digital engineering hardware and the software of a three tier programme service spreads nationally, regionally and even locally.

Over the decades, the results of this melt of engineering and creativity have captivated million who would be glued to television sets to watch anything from news to cricket match telecasts, exhibitions of art, culture and Bollywood to education on the arts and sciences alike, from catering to a vast farming community to catalysing the growth of industry and commerce.

Over the years Doordarshan has grown into a network operating 34 satellite channels besides providing free-to-air DTH service having 104 in its bookings. Indeed, that single studio from its small departmental home in All India Radio has grown into 66 studio centers all over the country, including 17 major studio centers at State capitals and 49 other studio centers located in various cities.

Name Designation Landline No (O) E-mail ID/Twitter
Director General 23118801 / 23118802
E-in-C AIR & DD 23118813
Shri Mukesh Kumar ADG(Admn.) 23118810
Shri Shashi Kant ADG(HR) 23118812
Shri Rajesh Jain ADG[E] HQs 23097540
Smt Kanchan Prasad ADG(P) 23114599 /
Ms. Rakhi Vimal CVO 23114504
Shri. A. K.Jha DDG[E] (Platforms/DD Free Dish 23114622
Shri Mukesh Kumar Garhwal DDG(A) HR 23114549
Shri Surender Singh DDG(A) 23114555
Shri Ashish Potnis DDG(DCS) 23114971
23114972 /
Shri R P Joshi DDG (IT) 23421049
Shri D.P Singh DDG(Content) 23114526
Shri. P.P.Shukla DDG [Kashir Channel] 23114618
Sh. R.A.Warsi DDG [E] [Transmitter Design]/Maint 23114420
Shri. P.S.Srivastava DDG[E] Policy 23114638
Ms Ruchi Agrawal DDG[E] (HQs) 23114425
Shri R.K.Karn DDG[E] Land Management 23114425
Shri R.A.Warsi DDG{E] Maintenace 23114111
Shri S.A.Tripathi DDG[E] RTI 23114527
Shri S.K.Singh DDG[E] (Coordination) 23114409
Shri B.K.Oberoi DDG[E] Budget
Shri Harshit Kumar DDG[E] Finance 23114514
Shri. R.S. Chouhan DDA – A&G 9013515375
Shri Sanjeev Kumar Jindal DDA – HRIS 23114109
Shri Sanjeev Verma DDA – Legal 23114169
Shri Ashesh Kumar DDA – S IV 23114345
Shri Anil Kumar Khurana DDA – IFD 23114110
Hindi Section 23114914

Doordarshan Bhawan
Copernicus Marg, New Delhi-110001