Chairman, Prasar Bharati

Shri A Surya Prakash
Ex-Chairman, Prasar Bharati

Off. Tel.:+91-11-23118801/ 23118802

Follow @mediasurya

A. Surya Prakash, Ex-Chairman,
Prasar Bharati

A Brief Profile

A Surya Prakash is an author and Columnist and a leading commentator on Indian constitutional and parliamentary issues and governance. Apart from his pioneering work on Parliament, Surya Prakash is known for his well-researched interventions on national issues.

Over the last 47 years, Surya Prakash has held key positions in several print and electronic media organisations. He was Editor, Zee News; Executive Editor, The Pioneer; India Editor, Asia Times; Political Editor, Eenadu Group of Newspapers; and Chief of Bureau, The Indian Express, New Delhi.

Currently, apart from heading Prasar Bharati, Surya Prakash is a Member of the Executive Council of the Nehru Memorial Museum & Library, New Delhi and Member, Board of Governors, Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU). He is also Member, Advisory Council, Vivekananda International Foundation, a New Delhi based Think-Tank and Director, India Foundation, New Delhi.

His Columns appear in The New Indian Express, The Pioneer, Dainik Jagran, Eenadu, The Prameya, Prajavani and Dinamani.

Surya Prakash, supported by a K.K. Birla Fellowship, took a sabbatical in the early 1990s to study the working of India’s apex legislative body. The result was What Ails Indian Parliament, published in 1995 by HarperCollins, which is hailed as the most definitive text on the working of India’s Parliament after W.H. Morris-Jones Parliament in India, published in 1957.

His next work on Parliament – Public Money, Private Agenda – The Use and Misuse of MPLADS, published by RUPA in 2013, has also won critical acclaim.

Recently he has published The Emergency – Indian Democracy’s Darkest Hour. This book has also been published in Hindi, Gujarati, Telugu & Kannada by MeghNirghosh Media Pvt. Ltd.

Surya Prakash has several more publications on the working of India’s Parliament including chapters in many books.

He has travelled widely and observed the working of the German and British Parliaments.

Surya Prakash is also recipient of the Sardar Patel Fellowship from the Institute of Policy Studies; Chennai; the Karnataka Rajyotsava Award from the Government of Karnataka; the Karnataka Patrika Academy Award; and the Bipan Chandra Pal Sanman for Fearless Journalism.

© Copyright 2018, Website Content Managed by Prasar Bharati (IT Division).
Last Updated on 18/09/2020